simpsonsister

A great WordPress.com site

The Only Thing I Am Doing Right

Do you ever have one of those days? The one where you want to crawl back into bed and start over? I have contemplated this several times, until I realize a statement I have heard “around these part.” Its the idea that “you can start your day over whenever you want” – some amazing person with better perspective than me

Today, the only thing that I feel like I am doing right is staying sober. I guess that’s a good thing, since its the thing that I have failed at so often in the past. But you see, it makes me uncomfortable. I am used to doing well at other things and then rewarding (numbing) myself with the booze.

I am struggling with life – mainly parenting at this present moment. Being a parent is hard. Being an alcoholic parent (in early recovery) is freaking hard. I am trying to juggle all of my responsibilities, and it seems that someone always loses out on something. Usually it was me, and then of course I drank because I feel sorry for myself. Now, that I am putting myself on the priority list – someone else has to wait. And wait, I mean for a few minutes, a few hours, until tomorrow. Try to tell that to a 6 year old, a 2.5 year old and a 6 month old infant. Not to mention a husband who has been through hell with me and of course the house. Ahhh…I know I am doing the right thing and I am a better person because of it.

I know its going to be all right. I know that I am doing what I am supposed to. Its still flipping hard. Today was just one of those days. I’ll try again tomorrow, but at least I will wake up sober.

Hugs to all of you!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Only Thing I Am Doing Right

  1. That’s the besdt part about all of this crap. That…no matter how bad our days are…we wake up sober every morning.

    Honestly, some days that was the only thing that kept me from drinking. But it worked and that’s all that matters.

    Hugs and endless belief in you –
    Sherry

  2. Hey you! I am finding (again for the umpteenth time) Sober parenting is hard.. But me being a hungover mama is even worse.. Seriously we need to put us on the top of the list, or how can we possibly take care of anyone????
    xo

  3. Just checking in – how are you doing?

Leave a Reply

